Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Live in the present

on November 27, 2012

“The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, not to worry about the future…but to live the present moment wisely and earnestly.” – Siddhartha Gautama Buddha

We are blessed with living a new day, full of opportunities and growth. There is beauty and wonder in our day today. And yet, so often, we remember yesterday or fret for tomorrow.

Just this past weekend, after having a few days off for Thanksgiving, I started to think about work, dreading to go back, to wake up early, to be consumed in projects. But by thinking that way, I wasn’t enjoying the moment that was given to me right then. The moment to be with family, to have relaxing time at home, and to have freedom to do fun stuff. I had to shake my head, get rid of those negative anxious thoughts of the future, and start living my life today.

Whether it’s fretting over the future or fretting about what happens in the past, I am doing harm to myself. I need to wake up and enjoy each moment as it comes. Good health only comes with a calm body and mind and appreciating what God gives us each moment.

Leave a Reply

