Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Store up what matters to God

on August 5, 2013

“And someone from the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to share the inheritance with me.”

But he said to him, “Man, who has appointed me as judge or arbitrator over you?” So he said to them: “Be cautious and wary of all avarice. For a person’s life is not found in the abundance of the things that he possesses.” Then he spoke to them using a comparison, saying: “The fertile land of a certain wealthy man produced crops.”

And he thought within himself, saying: ‘What should I do? For I have nowhere to gather together my crops.’ And he said: ‘This is what I will do. I will tear down my barns and build larger ones. And into these, I will gather all the things that have been grown for me, as well as my goods. And I will say to my soul: Soul, you have many goods, stored up for many years. Relax, eat, drink, and be cheerful.’

But God said to him: ‘Foolish one, this very night they require your soul of you. To whom, then, will those things belong, which you have prepared?’ So it is with him who stores up for himself, and is not wealthy with God.”Luke 12:13-21

Jesus tells us clearly that true life does not depend on our possessions. There is nothing wrong with following good business principles or even of saving for the future. But God wants us to focus on lasting things.

What matters to God? Love, forgiveness, healing, prayer, helping others, being kind to strangers, smiles, laughter, family, friends, nature, taking care of the earth and the animals, doing what’s right, learning, reading the Bible, donating to good causes, etc….

Let us pray for the strength to resist greed and the desire to have things. May we express gratitude for what God has blessed us with and not dwell on the things we don’t have.

If you have some things you’re storing up for “later use” or as a safety net, let it go. Clean out your closets, re-evaluate the items you have and donate.

So remember to store up what matters to God. Fill your home and heart with good things. Simplify and clear out the clutter!

Leave a Reply

