Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Tackling fears

on August 16, 2013

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” -2 Timothy 1:7

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” -Isaiah 41:10  

David also said to Solomon his son, “Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the LORD is finished.” -1 Chronicles 28:20

Don’t stop trying just because you are afraid. Don’t sell yourself short. Don’t make excuses.

I have been guilty of this many times. I feel worried before an event happens that I won’t be good enough, that I won’t be able to do what I’m supposed to. I chicken out of opportunities that would be a great learning experience or a great experience to strengthen friendships. I make excuses. And then someone reminds me that I have what it takes, I shouldn’t think less of myself. Often times, when I do end up doing that something, I go above my goal and realize that I can be great at it!

Try. Trying is something, even if you don’t reach your full goal. Keep getting back up and tackle another opportunity. Take risks.

Excuses and selling yourself short only lead to insecurities, fear, and regrets. But when you go over that hump of doubt, it leads to a sense of accomplishment, confidence, joy. Trying and setting goals and going for something diminishes your fears little by little.

Remember God can lead you over the hump of fear and give you strength. He tackled the cross! He can help you tackle anything.

Leave a Reply

