Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Appreciating what we have

on December 29, 2013

“Happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.” – Frederick Koenig

During the holiday season, it seems that we are boggled down by wanting this and that and waste our day shopping. We spend our money getting items that we want and think will be good for us. After Christmas, there is still a mad rush for shopping and buying things we may not need but we think we do.

Today I was in the store and once I left the store, I felt bad about myself. Bad for spending my money for these things. And I also felt bad knowing that all those people in the store were without-a-care spending away money too. To know that our culture today is all about spending and money made me feel bad in the end.

Frederick Koenig said that we shouldn’t be preoccupied with getting something we want, but rather appreciating what we have and finding happiness in our lives without relying on money! A good Christian value too – we should appreciate and enjoy the season and the New Year with family and friends, content with what we have, and focused on enjoying everyday life moments.

Something that I have today that I appreciate: making my own cookies with my loved ones (instead of wanting to buy a special cookie treat at the bakery!), and sitting on the couch with my cats listening to lovely swing music (instead of wanting to buy a movie, cd, or movie tickets). What are you appreciative today for something you have?

Leave a Reply

