Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Weekly Prayer: Abundance and Prosperity

on August 19, 2014

“Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a few cents. Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.” ” – Mark 12, 41-44

The message this Sunday at my church was about abundance versus scarcity. Mark 12, versus 41-44, describes generosity and abundance, in that the poor widow who had hardly had anything, gave her all to Jesus. Austine Cline wrote that this widow showed true discipleship – “being willing to give everything you have, even your livelihood, for the sake of God.”  She had true abundance – an abundant love and devotion to God.

Isn’t that how each of us should live?

We should live abundantly for God. Be prosperous according to God’s view, not in the eyes of today’s culture, where abundance is having money and material possessions. Abundance should be about being filled with love, joy, faith, devotion, and service to God. And having abundance according to God’s principles means sharing that love and joy and service to those in our community.

Dear God,

Thank you so much for all you have given me. I am so happy and grateful for the abundance I already have. You amaze me with your love, blessings and rewards we receive everyday without even asking or realizing what we are receiving.

Father, I give you my life and today surrender all my financial concerns to you. I already know that you have told me I do not need to worry or have fears about anything. You have already told us that you take care of everything and we just need to trust and have faith.

I only think of the positive now never looking at the past. I believe that my prosperity is here and I thank you for it now. I know that abundance in my life flows from you, Lord.

Father, thank you for all your great rewards! I will continue to work diligently and strive to do my best in all that I do.

Thank you God, Amen.

(modified from this prayer)

Leave a Reply

