Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Weekly Hymn: Shine, Jesus, Shine

on September 4, 2014

Shine, Jesus, Shine is a hymn written by Graham Kendrick, who is known for other hymns and for March For Jesus Movement. These “marches for praise” involved Christians marching and signing in the streets of England. Graham’s hymn here is about giving praise to Jesus, our Light for the world.

John 1:9 “The true light that gives light to everyone was coming into the world.”

John 12:46 “I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.”

Lord, the light of your love is shining
In the midst of the darkness, shining
Jesus, Light of the world, shine upon us
Set us free by the truth you now bring us
Shine on me, shine on me

Chorus:
Shine, Jesus, shine
Fill this land with the Father’s glory
Blaze, Spirit, blaze
Set our hearts on fire
Flow, river, flow
Flood the nations with grace and mercy
Send forth your word
Lord, and let there be light

Lord, I come to your awesome presence
From the shadows into your radiance
By the blood I may enter your brightness
Search me, try me, consume all my darkness
Shine on me, shine on me

As we gaze on your kingly brightness
So our faces display your likeness
Ever changing from glory to glory
Mirrored here may our lives tell your story
Shine on me, shine on me

Leave a Reply

