Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

The 5 Love Languages with God

on September 28, 2014

Today my husband and I tried a new church and wanted to share the message from the pastor. It was a great service, full of welcoming people, warmth, prayer, and good music. The main focus was on loving God and how we can be better in our relationship with Him.

Deuteronomy 6:4-6: “Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.​”​

What do you do to show you love your parents? How do you love them?
Some ways include: hugs, kisses, doing what they tell you/chores, doing things together, helping them, giving them gifts, saying thank you, and telling them you love them.

The same goes with God. He longs for a relationship with us. We should apply the five love languages to our relationship with God:
​1. ​acts of service
​2. ​words of affirmation
​3. ​quality time
​4. ​receiving gifts
​5. ​touch

​1. ​When we get involved in the community, serve, attend church, do things all for God, that tells Him we love Him.

​2. ​Simply, we should pray and talk to God, telling Him thanks and that we love Him.

3. ​Prayer and church also count as quality time. When we take time to just be with God and listen to Him, our love for Him will grow stronger and more personable.

​4. ​What gifts can we give to God? We can share our money with those who need it. We can donate, participate in fundraisers, give gifts to others as a way to show we care for God and His people. It will feel rewarding when we let go and give.

5. ​It may be hard to touch God, but no that He is all around us. Go deep into your heart, pray, and you’ll find God there. Hold out your hands and pray with others. We also touch God when we accept His bread and body in the communion.

As Deuteronomy says, we should love the Lord our God with all our heart, soul, strength, and mind. There are many ways to love! ​Remember that the greatest commandment and gift from God is to love.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: