Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Weekly Song: Ashland’s Song

on November 17, 2014

Peter Hollens, a talented singer from Oregon, just released his first album this month. His original song, “Ashland’s Song” is written about his son and seeing him for the first time. I love the lyrics because it describes what anyone would feel meeting their child for the first time: their lives are changed forever and their hearts are filled with love.

In addition, I think of God: He welcomes us with open arms with a lifetime of love, and he has so much joy for each one of us. Just think, God is exclaiming, “It’s been another great day! My child is born! My love for is everlasting! Your life is so special! Let’s celebrate!”

My ear upon her belly
I listen to the beat
So tiny and so precious
Can’t wait until we meet
I’ll hold you and protect you
with my entire be
How can a heart have grown so big,
For such a little thing?

It’s been the longest day
And one I won’t forget
The day that we first met
The day that we first met

When the nurse first called me daddy
And handed you to me
The tears welled up in my eyes
I found it hard to see
The meeting I had waited for
Finally was here
And everything I couldn’t say
Was captured in a tear

It’s been the hardest day
And one I won’t forget
The day that we first met
The day that we first met

The rhythm of the monitor
A slow and steady beat
The faintest glow
The lights alow
Your mother is asleep
My world is in this room
My world is just us three
There’s no other place that I would rather be

So much I wanna give you
So much I wanna say
You’ve changed my life forever
And it’s only been a day
I’ll spend a lifetime loving you
Starting from day one
I can’t believe you’re finally here
My everything, my son

It’s been the greatest day
And one I won’t forget
It’s been the greatest day
The day that we first met

Leave a Reply

