Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Weekly Song: Were You There

on April 6, 2015

Were You There is a beautiful song about Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection! It was originally published in 1899, and thought to have been written by African-American slaves in the 19th century.

Were you there when they crucified my Lord
Were you there when they crucified my Lord
Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble
Were you there when they crucified my Lord

And were you there when they laid Him in the tomb
Were you there when they laid His precious body in the tomb
Sometimes it causes me to tremble, I cry and I tremble
Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb

Were you there when He rose from the grave
Were you there when my Jesus rose from the grave
Sometimes it makes me want to shout
And I cry and I begin to tremble, I tremble
Were you there when He rose from the grave

One response to “Weekly Song: Were You There

  1. I love, love, love this song!

Leave a Reply

