Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Children and Teaching

on May 30, 2015

“Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he will not turn from it” -Proverbs 22:6

“…do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.” -Ephesians 6:4

“He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me.” -Matthew 18:2-5

I work part time at a YMCA preschool classroom and the kids teach me a lot.  They’ve been helpful in preparing me for a baby–regarding discipline, their needs, affection, energy levels, creative ways to teach them, etc.

On the other end, we are teaching them a lot of the new stuff. 

In some instances, I see how some kids are and their family life at home, and it makes me not want to be that parent, not to influence my child like that. In many instances, I see how beautiful and fun children are, and how their personality and intelligence are already shining through at age 3-5. Overall the kids show me how we can all influence one another. 

Remember that we can all affect one another, whether it be good or bad. Choose to love, choose to raise your child well, choose to be responsible when you have children. Choose to make family life important.

I want to be the parent that takes time with their child, love them, comfort them, teach them, and also discipline them when needed. I want my child to grow up responsible, kind, social, active, smart, and good.

Some of the interactions that happen in the classroom: We constantly are emphasizing the need to take turns, share toys, clean up after themselves, follow directions, and have fun learning! Some of the kids really are receptive to my growing belly and me being pregnant. They catch on quickly what’s going on. Then there are a few that ask me – did you eat your baby? what does your baby eat if it’s stuck inside? 

Curiosity and cuteness!

At this young stage, we really make a difference in the children’s lives to come. And they can make a difference in your life as well and give you a smile. Remember to love, reach out, and really focus on teaching the children around you well. Every child’s body, mind, and soul are developing so fast at this age – and they need love, attention, structure, socialization, and family.

If you aren’t around kids yourself…one day go up to a kid and talk to them – they’ll really teach you a lot, make you smile, and make you appreciate life!

We all influence each other in unique ways. Be a good influence today and always. 

Leave a Reply

