Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Recycled Post: Making Mistakes

on July 21, 2015

Today’s recycled post comes from March 2014:

“…forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead…” -Philippians 4:13
“Cast your burden on the Lord and He will sustain you…” -Psalm 55:22
“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” -1 John 1:9

Do you dwell on other people’s mistakes, or are you often harder on yourself?

When I make a mistake, I tend to dwell on it too much. I wish I acted differently. I overthink other scenarios of how I should have handled it, and I feel guilty, embarrassed, ashamed, less confident, and disappointed.

It takes courage to look at a mistake and move forward rather than dwell on that past error. We need to learn from the mistake and remember how to act next time. We especially need to let go of such high expectations and be kinder to ourselves. Sometimes we are our own worst critic.

God tells us to be still, to hand over our worries and mistakes to Him. May we find comfort and strength in God, and let Him only be the one to fix everything. He’s the only one that can heal us and forgive us. Ask for His forgiveness today!

Womenworking.com says this about mistakes and moving forward:

“As gracious as we may be to others, we often forget to give that to ourselves. Maybe we haven’t been taught how to do this.  But what we don’t know, we can teach ourselves. 

Here are a few ways I have learned to give to myself:

-Acknowledge all I do in any one given day. And really take that in.
-Be kind to the little girl within me, like any child, she wants to be loved.
-Not see others as the cause of my problems, but look to myself for what isn’t working in my life.
-Understand my humanity, and the humanity of everyone else on the planet.  When I make mistakes, take responsibility for them and move on.  If I could have done better at the time, I would have.

YOUR MANTRA: I AM WORTHY OF ALL GOOD THINGS AND DESERVE THE BEST.”

Leave a Reply

