Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

God’s Gift of Marriage

on August 24, 2015

Marriage is a wonderful and challenging thing. God has blessed us with the sanctity of marriage; He gave us our life partner to teach us about love and sacrifice, intimacy, and communication, among other things.

I admit that marriage is challenging at the same time beautiful. Marriage makes me less selfish and teaches me to let go and focus on loving my husband fully. I am learning to openly share my thoughts with my husband, to communicate effectively, to overcome my introversion and habits of overthinking, and to not be afraid to show my love through actions. My husband teaches me every day to give and take, share, and sacrifice. He teaches me to be a better me, letting go of pride, learning to resolve conflicts maturely, learning to be fully exposed and open with him, learning to listen and be patient, learning to trust and forgive.

Some marriages struggle with one aspect, while others struggle with another. Don’t compare your marriage to another. Focus on your own marriage and how to be a better partner. Remember that marriage is a gift from God! God wants you to constantly strive to be better, and He gives you your significant other out of love. I’m so blessed that God found me my husband. I pray that my husband continues to know how much I love him. I pray that I may always be a better wife each day and work on my weaknesses.

What are some strengths and weaknesses in your marriage? 

What are some things you can do to make your marriage better?

Some ideas:

  • Make regular date nights, but keep it varied, spark the romance.
  • Touch, hug, kiss, and show your husband you are devoted to him.
  • Set time out to talk and communicate each day about what’s going on and on how you’re feeling.
  • Offer to help with something, do a chore, or do something nice unexpectedly.
  • Workout or take a walk together, and make good health a priority together.
  • In conflict, don’t let your pride or anger get in the way; rather, take a breath and hear your partner’s side, be willing to understand, and be kind.
  • Express an interest in their hobbies and ask questions, even if you don’t care for the hobby yourself.
  • Make sure you make time for yourself or your friends; give your spouse space to do their own thing and spend time with their own friends. 
  • Support each other and don’t talk bad about your partner to others. Don’t try to change them – love them for who they are.
  • Encourage, compliment, and make your spouse feel desired and appreciated. Don’t forget to tell them often that you love them.

Check out this article on how to build up intimacy in your marriage.

And here are some inspiring marriage quotes: 

“‘Being in love’ — is not merely a feeling. It is a deep unity, maintained by the will and deliberately strengthened by habit; reinforced by the grace which both partners ask, and receive, from God.” – C.S. Lewis

“The difference between an ordinary marriage and an extraordinary marriage is in giving just a little ‘extra’ every day, as often as possible, for as long as we both shall live.” -Fawn Weaver

“The greatest marriages are built on teamwork. A mutual respect, a healthy dose of admiration, and a never-ending portion of love and grace.” -Fawn Weaver

“Love is a partnership of two unique people who bring out the very best in each other, and who know that even though they are wonderful as individuals, they are even better together.” -Barbara Cage

“Marriage is not a noun; it’s a verb. It isn’t something you get. It’s something you do. Its the way you love your partner every day.” -Barbara De Angelis

“One of the greatest things in life is finding someone who knows all your mistakes and still thinks you are absolutely amazing.” -Unknown

Marriage really is a beautiful thing. Thank God today for your spouse!

Prayer: Lord, I pray that my marriage may be based on Christ, based on love. Please help me make more of an effort in all that I do to show my partner that I care. May you, Lord, lead me to be a better spouse today and everyday. Amen.

Leave a Reply

