Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Outlander and True Love

on September 22, 2015

I have been enjoying reading the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon…for the sense of history, culture, adventure, and more…However, I’d like to reflect specifically on Diana’s message of love throughout the series.

She constantly emphasizes, through the words and actions of the characters, the importance of love and obligation in ones relationships.

True love expands boundaries and time.

True love requires sacrifice and commitment, forgiveness and dedication.

True love means working hard every day to care for and protect another.

True love is a special bond, uniting people together, making them more complete as one.

True love is more than romance, it’s intimacy, opening our souls to another.

What does true love mean to you? How can you better share your love to your significant other?

Some lovely quotes from the Outlander series:

“Ye are Blood of my Blood, and Bone of my Bone, I give ye my Body, that we Two might be One. I give ye my Spirit, ’til our Life shall be Done.” -Outlander

“’I was crying for joy, my Sassenach,’ he said softly. He reached out slowly and took my face between his hands.’And thanking God that I have two hands. That I have two hands to hold you with. To serve you with, to love you with. Thanking God that I am a whole man still, because of you.’” -Outlander

“’We are bound, you and I, and nothing on this earth shall part me from you.’” -Dragonfly in Amber

“‘You are my courage, as I am your conscience…You are my heart – and I your compassion. We are neither of us whole, alone.'” -Drums of Autumn

“‘Your face is my heart, and love of you is my soul. But you’re right, ya canna be my conscience.'” -Drums of Autumn

“’So long as my body lives, and yours — we are one flesh,’ he whispered, ‘And when my body shall cease, my soul will still be yours. Claire — I swear by my hope of heaven, I will not be parted from you.’”  -Drums of Autumn

“‘When I take ye, when I lie in your arms–my wounds are healed, then, my scars forgotten.'” -The Fiery Cross

God gave us love! He is the ultimate example of love. Sometimes the best things God gives us are hard to describe; they are just so beautiful and heartfelt. God wants true love to encompass our hearts and our lives. I pray that we may find our soulmate and experience what true love is. Love is so much apart of our whole selves…we can’t just pinpoint love into one adjective.

Remember that God loves you truly, His love expands boundaries and words!

1 Corinthians 13:
“If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a ringing brass gong or a clashing cymbal. And if I have the gift of prophecy and I know all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith so that I can remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. And if I parcel out all my possessions, and if I hand over my body in order that I will be burned, but do not have love, it benefits me nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind, love is not jealous, it does not boast, it does not become conceited, it does not behave dishonorably, it is not selfish, it does not become angry, it does not keep a record of wrongs, it does not rejoice at unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth, bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends. But if there are prophecies, they will pass away. If there are tongues, they will cease. If there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but whenever the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I set aside the things of a child. For now we see through a mirror indirectly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know completely, just as I have also been completely known. And now these three things remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.”​

Leave a Reply

