Sisters For Sunshine

Receive God's Warm Love Through Reflection

Leaders for God

on September 4, 2013

“That you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world…” -Philippians 2:15

“Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity.” -1 Timothy 4:12

I’m getting ready for a new group Bible study to start up next week and am learning so much in the process. I didn’t believe in myself, that I could set it up on my own, but I have!

I want to be as prepared as possible, so I wrote up some notes and expectations for the study, along with Bible resources and questions to think about. I like writing, and I’ll be able to type up a supplemental sheet for each chapter that lists the focus, weekly Bible verses, and additional questions.

What I’m most nervous about is leading. I am not usually a leader, I like to read and reflect on the Bible and share answers with the group, but never felt comfortable directing people toward the right answers, leading questions, and saying prayers. I’ve outlined the schedule of the Bible study, and I hope that we can stay on track. I know some people like to talk, and I don’t want to be the leader that is pushy and rude to try to get back on track. What my hope is, is that the atmosphere becomes a positive, warm, and friendly one, one such that we lead the Bible study naturally together as a group. We have good discussions, help anyone new to the faith, and have fun in our study. I hope it will be rewarding and I can make good friends and lead people closer to God!

I feel like this is the next step in my faith journey, that God is telling me I need to overcome my introverted-ness and learn to lead. Because I am a great leader, I just need to see it for myself and know how to properly show my love and faith with others.  God is giving me the skills to be a good leader.

So, I pray for everyone who is doubting themselves. May we see our potential and know that we can be great leaders for God!

Know, too, that being a leader can show up in many forms. You can be a leader of example in your behavior and service and not even know it!

Here’s to a great Bible study full of joy and growth. And to being great Christians, ones who make a difference in the lives of others. Shine your light to others always. There is nothing to worry about being a leader for God.  🙂


One response to “Leaders for God

  1. Linda says:

    You are a leader and a great example of a good Christian!

Leave a comment